- America History and Life
complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
a fully searchable electronic database that will contain the archives of major research journals covering a wide range of subjects.
- Project Muse
offers nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Archives USA
Current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States
- Southern Life
contains millions of full-text articles gathered from actual searches through Gale material on topics that directly relate to Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more. Content is drawn from a range of publications, such as academic journals, newspapers, and authoritative reference works.
- World Cat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H. W. Wilson)
a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.