America: History and Life - complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering all key English-language historical journals from 1964-Current.
AnthroSource - provides digital access to AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins including current issues of 15 key peer-reviewed publications.
JSTOR - a not-for-profit organization that is creating a fully searchable electronic database that will contain the archives of major research journals covering a wide range of subjects.
Sociological Abstracts - abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
ProQuest Sociology - full-text of more than 275 journals in sociology and social work including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Archives USA - directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States.
Historical Abstracts - reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
InfoTrac OneFile - one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. The database contains millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Nineteenth Century Newspapers - full-text, facsimile-image database of 200 newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events. Includes Jonesborough, TN newspapers.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia - diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These accounts provide a view of the of the vast region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, which spans three and a half centuries and provides information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)