provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American art from late antiquity to modern times. It is no longer being updated.
- International Bibliography of Art
the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Beginning with 2008, it covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. More than 500 core journals cover visual arts in all media, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
- CAMIO--Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
includes about 95,000 art images -- photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture -- plus audio, video and mixed media. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
a multidisciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases including Art Full Text. Coverage begins in 1982 for indexing, in 1984 for abstracting, and in 1994 for full text.
a fully searchable electronic database that will contain the archives of major research journals covering a wide range of subjects.
- Project Muse
offers nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- World Cat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.