- Sociological Abstracts
abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
provides access to international literature in spychology and related disciplines. The database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
a fully searchable electronic database that will contain the archives of major research journals covering a wide range of subjects.
- Project Muse
offers nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Publications indexed cover a a wide range of social science topics including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature, ERIC provides access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- Women's Studies International
primarily an index of the feminist press...an excellent resource for finding articles from a feminist perspective."
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
a multidisciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases. Coverage begins in 1982 for indexing, in 1984 for abstracting, and in 1994 for full text.
- World Cat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- ProQuest Sociology
full-text of more than 275 journals in sociology and social work including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.