Skip to main content

Sherrod Library

East Tennessee State University

Tennessee History Resources: Counties, Cities, Communities

This guide was created to assist Melanie Storie's course on Tennessee History for Tennessee Governor's School in June 2010.

Cities, etc.


COUNTIES & CITIES LISTINGS

MOST POPULAR COUNTY PAGES

Counties (Alphabetically

TSLA

   The Tennessee State Library and Archives makes available a range of historical resources, including the governor's papers, county records, African American records, bibliographies, birth and death records, manuscripts, military records, and microfilmed Tennessee newspapers.

Counties A-C

If counties have official archives, you may find links to their websites here. If no archives are listed, consider contacting the county courthouse or county public library to find out where records might exist, or the Tennessee State Library and Archives link at the top of the page may lead you to resources about county histories.

Anderson

    http://www.andersontn.org/countyhistorian.html

               The Archives contain documents such as Marriage Bonds, Divorce Records, Indexes and Warranty Deeds, Probate Records, Wills, Estates, Court Records, Chancery Court Records, Circuit Court Records, and Tax Records in addition to many more records and information.

Bedford

   http://www.bedfordcountytn.org/archives.html

               Bedford County was Established Dec.31, 1807. Some records are permanent and are preserved, while other records can be destroyed after a number of years. In March of 1863 Confederate soldiers made a fire to keep warm, but it spread to engulf the old courthouse and destroy most of the records. The archives room in the Courthouse was opened to the public in 1998.

Benton

Bledsoe

   http://web.bledsoe.net/~bcpl/genealogy.htm

                  The Bledsoe County Public Library is recognized by the Tennessee State Library and Archives as the Bledsoe County Archives and Historical Records Repository.  The library maintains many published family histories and a family histories file. Also of interest are the Cherokee and Melungeon books and files, and the Soldiers’ Pension Lists of 1792-1795, 1812, 1820 and 1890.

Blount

   http://www.blounttn.org/records.asp

               The purpose of the Blount County Records Management Department is to receive and process both non-current, permanent records and temporary records created by Blount County Government from 1795 to present for as long as materials are needed. The Blount County Records Management will provide information on court records, demography, genealogy and history of Blount County, Tennessee. Records Management

Bradley

   http://www.clevelandlibrary.org/services/history_branch.php

               The library’s collection is focused on genealogy and local history. A wealth of information about Bradley County is available, including vital records, family, city and county histories, and court records dating to the county’s earliest years. Local newspapers (1854-1970) are available on microfilm. Special collections include photographs, scrapbooks, and manuscripts. Of special interest are the Mayfield Papers (legal correspondence, 1895-1929), the James F. Corn Papers (Cherokee Indians), and the William R. Snell Papers (interpretive study of Red Clay State Park).

Campbell

Cannon

   http://www.usgennet.org/usa/tn/county/cannon/

               Hosted by USGenNet, this site is a researcher created compendium of genealogical information for Cannon, Co., TN including census and cemetery records, maps, newspapers, and vital records.

Carroll

   http://carrollcountylibrary.net/genealogy.html

               The Carroll County Library hosts a Genealogy Room, which contains 300 manuscripts and over 300 rolls of microfilm, including access to the county newspaper.
  

Carter

Cheatham

Chester

Claiborne

   http://claibornelibrary.org/library-services/           

               The Claiborne County Public Library is the holder of county census records, courthouse records, and family histories.

Clay

Cocke

Cumberland

    http://www.artcirclelibrary.info/Archives/CCAHC.htm

               The Cumberland County Archives and Heritage Center, collects, preserves, and interprets historic artifacts, documents, photographs, and other materials. They maintain the county's earliest extant records as well as reference and genealogical materials.

Counties D-H

Davidson

   http://www.nashville.gov/metro_archives/

               The Metropolitan Government Archives, a division of the Nashville Public Library, collects and preserves the historically valuable records of Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County, as well as other records of historical or documentary significance reflecting the history of our city. The Archives has ongoing programs to maintain and develop its collections, and welcomes researchers to come explore its treasures. The Archives has over 5 million records dating from the 1780s to the present.

Decatur

DeKalb

Dickson

               The Dickson County Archives has the following records: Marriage, Will, Deed, Estate Settlement Books, County Court Minute Books, Chancery and Circuit Court Minutes Books, and Property Tax Books. Available loose records include Marriages, Estate Settlements, County Court, Chancery and Circuit Court, and some births and deaths. The Archives is located at the Courthouse Annex in Charlotte, Tennessee. Pam Edwards is the archivist.
P.O. Box 155, Charlotte
615-789-7012
Email: pedwards@dicksoncountytn.gov

Dyer

Fayette

   http://www.fayettetn.us/CountyDepts/Library.htm

               There is a large staff-assisted genealogy department within the Fayette Co. Public Librarywhich includes all county records, old newspapers, civil war enlistments, diaries, and family Bible records.

Fentress

Franklin

   http://franklincountylibrary.org/Local_History.html

               The Franklin County Historical Society, founded in 1969, houses its local history collection in the Franklin County Library. The collection includes such resources as vertical files containing family history and genealogy, topical files relating to the history of Franklin County and its communities, and microfilm copies of the earliest records of Franklin County government,  local newspapers, regional census records, earliest birth and death records, and local church records, as well as, an extensive collection of periodicals and reference books featuring family genealogies, the history of Franklin County, the state of Tennessee, and several adjoining states.

Gibson

Giles

Grainger

   http://www.graingerarchives.org/

               The Grainger County Archives is the repository for the permanent-value records of Grainger County Government. The Archives also serves as the county research center for history and genealogy.

Greene

   http://www.ggcpl.org/cox.html

               The T. Elmer Cox Genealogical and Historical Collection, a branch of the Greene Co. Public Library, houses a large genealogical collection. Specific look-ups can be done for items such as census records, marriage  records, wills, settlements, inventories, court minutes, deeds, death certificates, obituaries, tombstone records, birth records, brief excerpts from articles or books, and any other sources for which finding aids exist.

Grundy

Hamblen

   http://hamblencountyarchives.blogspot.com/

               In addition to county records, other items of archival value which may be considered and collected by the Hamblen County Archives include local historical materials/records from organizations, institutions, companies, churches, individuals, and families which have a long lasting value. Other resources of interest include state and national history and genealogy materials, genealogy reference guides, Native American, African American, Melungeon, war/military, etc.

Hamilton

   http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov/localHist/localHist.html

                     The Local History and Genealogy Department of the Chattanooga Public Libraryprovides materials about the history of the city, county, and surrounding area and serves as a depository and research center. The genealogy and local history collections are strongest for Tennessee.

Hancock

Hardeman

Hardin

Hawkins

   http://www.hawkinscountytn.gov/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=20&Itemid=30

               Link to the Hawkins County Archives.

Haywood

Henderson

    http://ehlibrary.com/library-friends/

               The Tennessee Room at the Lexington-Henderson Co. Publoic Library houses a collection of local history and genealogical information. Since the department is a reference collection, materials are not available for check out or interlibrary loan.

Henry

   http://henrycountyarchive.org/about_us.html

               The Henry County Archive is the repository for Henry County's "Old Records." These records are no longer necessary for the day-to-day operation in the public offices of the courthouse where they were created. Many date to the beginning of the county in 1821 and are of great historical value. They are placed at the Archive for preservation and protection and made available to the public per state statute.

Hickman

   http://www.hickmanco.com/departments_archives.htm

               The mission of the Hickman County Archives is to collect, protect, preserve, and make available to the public those documents that tell the history of Hickman County to her people, and the office is now open for public use during normal business hours. All bound volumes that have been microfilmed, with the exception of deeds and deeds of trust, are available for review with the original volumes on site for verification of unclear images.  Tax rolls from the 1860’s to the 1990’s constitute the bulk of records now cleaned and organized.

Houston

   http://houstoncountyarchives.yolasite.com/about-us.php              

               The Houston County Archives has 140 years worth of archival records and materials about Houston County and it's people.  The Archives will contain such records as circuit court records, general sessions court records, tax records, local businesses old stationary and letter head examples, Judge William Herman Wiseman's papers and correspondence and much, much more.

Humphreys

Counties J-O

Jackson

Jefferson

Johnson

Knox

Lake

Lauderdale

Lawrence

Lewis

Lincoln

Loudon

McMinn

McNairy

Macon

Madison

Marion

Marshall

Maury

Meigs

Monroe

Montgomery

Moore

Morgan

Obion

Overton

Counties P-W

Perry

Pickett

Polk

Putnam

Rhea

Roane

Robertson

Rutherford

Scott

Sequatchie

Sevier

Shelby

Smith

Stewart

Sullivan

Sumner

Tipton

Trousdale

Unicoi

Union

Van Buren

Warren

Washington

Wayne

Weakley

White

Williamson

Wilson

Subject Guide

Kathy Campbell
Contact:
Sherrod Library,
Room 315
423-439-5629