This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers   Tags: archives, history, news  

A guide to conducting research in our newspaper collections.
Last Updated: Nov 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.etsu.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Microforms

Microfilm is a roll of film containing a series of frames or images much like a roll of film used in a camera. The materials found in microfilm at Sherrod Library include newspapers, periodicals, county records, census data, and more. 

Microfiche is a transparent sheet of film that contains a series of micro-images or frames arranged in a grid pattern. The most common fiche is a 4" x 6" sheet, which usually contains 60 to 100 pages. Ultrafiche is a form of microfiche which has greatly reduced images. A 3" x 5" sheet of ultrafiche may contain as many as 1,000 pages.

Microcards are images printed onto photographic paper rather than film. These micro-opaque images are then read by reflecting light off the image rather than through it as is the case with microfilm and fiche. Therefore microcards cannot be read with the same equipment as film and fiche.

 

About Newspaper Resources

At Sherrod Library we have selections of paper newspapers, newspapers on microforms, and some digitized newspapers. They are located in the Periodicals Department, on the second floor of the library or through our databases.  Newspapers can also be searched through the Library of Congress (LOC), within specialized online collections, and through Google's Newspaper Archive.

Our staff and student workers will be glad to assist with your research.  We can help you with the use of databases and instruct how to use our microform collections.

Need help? Talk to....

Tom Fehr
Contact Info
Resource Services
Sherrod Library, Room 206
(423) 439-5311
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip