- Project Muse
Project Muse® offers nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and man
JSTOR archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- America History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering all key English-language historical journals from 1964 to present
- Archives USA
Current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using ArchivesUSA®, researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly
- Film and Television Index
This database covers a broad range of subjects in the television and film industries and is designed for film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subjects covered include film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts
Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. The database contains millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- Nineteenth Century Newspapers
A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database of 200 newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events. Provides a broad yet sensitive depiction of the United States in the 1800s valuable to both professional and general researchers. Includes Jonesborough, TN newspapers.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.