This guide highlights databases, books, and internet sites which would be of great use to nursing students.
- CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982. It also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides fu ll text for 329 journals, plu
- Nursing and Allied Health
This database contains nearly 400 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Dates covered: 1975-Present.
- Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews
This database contains full-text articles as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.
- Cochrane Controlled Trials
This database is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
PUBMED, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related res
STAT!Ref® is an online healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools.
The full text collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Environmental Science, Microbiology, Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology & Toxicology.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Use Health and Wellness Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescr
- InfoTrac General OneFile
General OneFile includes more than 6,300 full-text titles (more than 11,000 titles in all); full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers; over 400 newspaper services covering worldwide current events
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.