Skip to main content

Sherrod Library

East Tennessee State University

Psychology: Find Articles


For instructions to access Sherrod Library databases from off campus (dorm rooms are considered off campus), click here.


Research Tools>Find articles, search databases




Use this option when you have a citation to an article and want to see if we have full-text of the article in a database.  Type journal title into the box.  If we have a database that contains the journal, type in the publication year, volume, issue, and start page number into the boxes provided and click go.  In the best of all possible worlds, one click will bring you to the full text of the article. Be prepared, however, to click several times to access the full text.

This is also a good option to use when you are interested in searching for articles from a particular journal and want to know which database(s) include full text your journal.  Type the journal title into the search box, click go, and you will retrieve a listing of those databases.

If you click the subject tab, you will be able to search for journal titles by topic and subtopic.


Peer reviewed, popular or trade?

Most databases allow you to  limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.

Search Google Scholar

ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.

 [Warning:  if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up!  Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]

Contact Information


Phone: 423-439-4307 (reference desk)