This guide introduces you to Sherrod Library's Women's Studies resources and points you toward other relevant resources outside the library which will inform and aid you in meeting your research goals.
Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary subject which draws from multilple disciplines including art, history, sociology, psychology, anthropology, as well as others. Keep in mind that relevant information appropriate for your research purposes may be discovered in most every database the library offers.
- America: History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering all key English-language historical journals from 1964-Current
- Archives USA
Current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using ArchivesUSA®, researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains mater
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education and provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
- InfoTrac Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, etc.
- Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles
A comprehensive electronic database relating to women's writing in the British Isles. It offers a wealth of biographical and critical information on more than 1,000 writers, together with entries on literary and historical events.
- Project Muse
Offers nearly 200 journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.
- Sociological Asbtracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP)
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
- Women's Studies International
Primarily an index of the feminist press...an excellent resource for finding articles from a feminist perspective.
- Women Writers Online
Search or browse texts by pre-Victorian women writers in the digital text collection of the Women Writers Project at Brown University.
Most databses allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. However, if you aren't sure if an article is peer-reviewed this guide will help you make the determination.
ETSU has partnered with Google to make our holdings available from within the search engine--just click on the familiar "Get It @ ETSU." If you're off-campus, you do need to set your preferences to let them know you're affiliated with the University.
[Warning: if you pull a citation through 'Get It @ ETSU' to ILLiad, the interlibrary loan app, check that all the information shows up! Google is great, but even its crawlbots can't dig out the volume and page numbers from all sites.]
Phone: 1-866-542-3878 (toll free)
423-439-4307 (reference desk)
offers curriculum-focused video in the following topics: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business
and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, and Archival Films and Newsreel.